Címkék

, , ,

Britton drew Roger Federer in the first round of the U.S. Open, the biggest stage in tennis and his first major tournament. The 18-year-old wild card was understandably overwhelmed when he found out just after noon today.

“Really?” he said on the phone, followed by a long pause. And then: “It’s awesome, I mean, I guess it’s good. It’s not good but it’s good—it means I’ll get a good court, maybe a night match, who knows?”

Másnap miután már összeszedte a gondolatait:

“I was pretty shocked. When Kelly [his manager] told me I didn’t believe her at first, but then I got 15 text messages in the space of 10 minutes and I knew it was true,” he says. “I thought, ‘This is crazy.’ Later, when I walked into the locker room, the American guys – Brendan Evans, Jesse Levine and Robby Ginepri – just started laughing at me. But everyone has been supportive.”

“I have a sort of love-hate relationship about it. It’s once-in-a-lifetime experience to play Roger Federer at the US Open, but at the same time it doesn’t make winning the first-round at a very important tournament very easy.”

“Ten minutes after the draw the phone started ringing off the hook. I’ve heard from people I have spoken to in forever. I’ve had a lot of requests for tickets, but unfortunately they are all being used.”

